Finally, some good fückin’ food.
Is that legal? It's funny and everything, but could they get away with this?
@Emp4th, cows are vegetarians, and this is made 100% out of cows, thus made 100% out of vegetarians, making it a vegetarian burger.
@Emp4th, I mean McDonald's has gotten away with listing their fries as a vegetarian option for years even though they are flavored with "beef extract". Idk what "beef extract" means, but I'd figure that would exclude them from vegetarian diets pretty handily.
@ThePandaPool , since cows eat grass and we eat cows that makes us second-hand vegetarians.
@Emp4th, all kidding aside no, vegetarian and vegan are legally definable terms which this wouldn't meet.
@Sven and Otar, vegan friendly "beef extract" is quite possible (technically would need to be called "beef type extract" or something like that) Nowhere near as good as the more common beef extract made from beef, but it is doable EDIT just looked this up apparently mcd retracted their claims that their fries are vegetarian, which strongly suggests the flavor they are using does in fact contain some beef.
@Emp4th, it’s great for barbecues, of course it’s legal
I'm glad they've redacted that, when I worked there years ago, it was one of the things I felt shjttiest about.
That said, I don't think vegan friendly is at all possible, because many vegans consider even honey an animal product and not to be used. Anything made from animal products is taboo. For many vegetarians, any foods that require the death of an animal or are usually harvested from a dead animal would be the no-go. If somehow there is a way to get the extract w/o the death of the animal, them maybe? But unlikely.
There are subcategories where, like the Amish, the severity of their beliefs and diet varies, but for orthodox vegans and *most* vegetarians, there really isn't a reasonable way for something that the ingredient"beef extract" on the box they come in to be properly vegan/vegetarian.
@Sven and Otar, maybe it’s cow urine? That could be called beef extract without hurting the animal!
@Sven and Otar, yeah for vegetarians there tends to be a few levels, which mainly revolve on eggs and dairy.
Level 1: as you described, as long as it can be retrieved without death or suffering of the animal it’s valid.
Level 2: will either restrict away from dairy or eggs
Level 3: will restrict both fair and eggs.
Level 4: vegan, pushes the level three to any animal byproduct, not just dairy or eggs
@Emp4th, it's from VIZ, a satirical comic. Readers will know it's a joke, and it's great to see these out of context and having people discuss them. :)
All the beef of beef
Everyone else is full of shïte and lying to u so y not go with it
Ah, a repost of my post yet somehow not a repost because it’s a different photo of the same page…