Neat, but impractical, atleast in 5e, enlarge/reduce only has a 1min maximum concentration time, per cast. Could be useful in a combat situation where you would get 6 rounds of 30ft movement, better as an arcane trickster rogue so that you could move the hand 30ft as a bonus action instead of an action, still youd be making yourself an "albeit small" flying target a target nonetheless. A kind DM may let you use it out of combat to mkve as though you were in initiative allowing you to "fly" the 180ft in 1 minute, but movment transfer doesnt really work that well from inside initiative to outside it, id also add that people forget mage hand isnt invisible, so everyone sees it carry you. Still cool though if the now 6in tall you stands in the palm of it.
@Rikdek Millstone, gonna burn ALOT of 2nd level spell slots repeating the effort
@Rikdek Millstone, question from a non dnd player. Is the hand ethereal or does the spell summon a physical hand? And if the hand is physical could you then cast enlarge on the hand?
@Hagasay, it isnt ethereal which is a very specific term in dnd meaning it is something on or of the ethereal plane (and is unable to be affected by things think become ethereal in skyrim), it is defined by the spell that makes the hand as, a spectral floating hand, whixh is not strictly defined, i think it would be upto the dm if theyd let you enlarge the hand, you can target it if you were attacking one used by an enemy, but there is no notation about hp or ac (armor class) i would rule myself that any damage would destroy it, it is a very basic spell that doesnt cost spell slots to cast, it is what is known as a cantrip (meaning it can be cast over and over again) the strict ruling on mage hand is that it cannot attack, use magic items, or carry anything larger than 10lbs, i would say if i did let someone cast enlarge on a mage hand, i probably wouldnt allow it to carry more weight, after all there are other spells that do that, that have higher costs for that reason.
@Rikdek Millstone, so what your saying is if I needed a big hand for *cough* reasons there's a chance.
@Hagasay, yes, also you see a hill giant at the other end of the bar.
@Rikdek Millstone, it's invisible if you're an arcane trickster
@Shmay Fish, yes, i think there may also be a feat that does that too
I don’t even play this game, but good Lord I love the jokes that come from their community!
Maybe with raw (rules as written), bit I self definately say that's not rai (rules as intendes)
@TheKen42, RAW and RAI both suck. You should use SAC (Sensible and Cool).